FAQ For Cosmetology License Renewal in Texas
• Can you renew your cosmetology license online?
Yes. Follow your states guidelines for continuing education courses and visit your states cosmetology board or professional regulation website to request renewal. As a law in Texas, a human trafficking training course is required when renewing your license.
Cosmo Training is an approved TDLR provider: #1887. You can complete your license renewals online and we will report your CE completion to TDLR within 24 hours.
• How much does it cost to renew cosmetology license?
The current renewal fee for specialty cosmetology licenses in the state of Texas is $53. If your license has been expired for 90 days or less, you will owe 1.5 times the regular renewal fee ($79.50). If your license has been expired between 90 days and 3 years, you will owe double the regular renewal fee ($106). If your license has been expired between 18 months and 3 years, you will need to submit a “Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal”
form along with the double renewal fee ($106). You will need to re-apply for a Texas cosmetology license if your license has been expired for more than 3 years.
If you complete your renewal education courses with Cosmo Training, we will beat any competitor price by 15%.
• Do cosmetology licenses transfer to other states?
Other states may have different licensing laws and requirements that need to be met. Reciprocity and endorsements are two common ways to be able to transfer your cosmetology license from one state to the next. You will need a record of your completed training hours from your beauty school or state cosmetology licensing board. Reciprocity is when another state allows you to work under the license of your current state. Often this depends on the whether the two states have similar licensing requirements. Endorsement is attempting to get licensed in a new state without taking the new state’s board examinations. Check with the states licensing board to see which option is best for your needs.
• How long do I have to renew my cosmetology license in Texas?
You have up to 3 years to renew your cosmetology license in Texas for double the regular renewal fee of $53 ($106). If your license has been expired between 18 months and 3 years, you will need to submit a “Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal”
form along with the double renewal fee. After 3 years, you will need to re-apply for licensing.
• Why work with a TDLR approved cosmetology provider?
Each year, approved providers such as Cosmo Training must renew their registration and complete their instructor course work. An approved providers continuing educations programs have been pre-approved to align with the TDLR cosmetology license renewal requirements.
Your continuing education courses can be performed online and includes the human trafficking training. Complete all required coursework at cosmotraining.com to renew your cosmetology license online through TDLR.
Date Created : 01/03/2019